The Three Minute Thesis (3MT)

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) is an academic competition that assists current graduate students with fostering effective presentation and communication skills. Participants have just three minutes to explain the breadth and significance of their research project to a non-specialist audience.

3MT was developed by The University of Queensland in 2008, and is now held at many countries around the world.

UBC was one of the first universities in North America to host a 3MT competition, when it held the inaugural 3MT @UBC in 2011. Every year heats are held across campus beginning in February, with winners moving on to the UBC-wide Semi-Finals and Finals in March.

The Research Commons is hosting the Multidisciplinary Heat featuring (Arts/Education/Law/All Faculties)

  1. Julie McNutt, PhD in Chemistry
  2. Sarah Smith-Tripp,  MSc in Geography
  3. Ziyi Yang,  LLM in Law
  4. Anoosha Pai S, MASc in Biomedical Engineering
  5. Shannon Russell,  LLM in Law
  6. Daniel He,  PhD in Experimental Medicine
  7. Kristina Chang,  MSc in Speech-Language Pathology
  8. Aruni Mitra,  PhD in Economics
  9. Fabian Froehlich,  MA in Curriculum and Pedagogy
  10. Sandeep Pai, PhD in the Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability
  11. Manideep Pachva, PhD in Interdisciplinary Oncology
  12. Sarah Park, MSc in Rehabilitation Science
  13. Michelle Chakraborti, PhD in Experimental Medicine

Date: Wednesday, Mar 04, 2020 | 4:00 PM – 6:00 PM
Location: Presentation Room (Room 548, Walter C. Koerner Library)
Register here


If you are a UBC graduate student and would like to compete in 3MT @UBC 2020, please e-mail us at with your name and program.  You can also directly register for departmental heats listed on the schedule.